Biography

Isabelle Métrope started her musical education in her homeland of France, as a violonist and singer. She studied Applied Modern Languages (BA) in Cologne, Newcastle upon Tyne and Aix en Provence as well as Music management (MA). Later on, she studied Choir conducting (with Prof. Jörg Breiding) and Voice Teaching (with Edina Soriano and Christoph Scheeben) at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen, Germany. There she taught choral singing to students majoring in instrumental studies and conducted choir rehearsals of the various University ensembles. Isabelle Métrope took part in several conducting masterclasses by Jörg Breiding at the Hannover Boys Choir (Knabenchor Hannover) as well as with Erwin List (France) and Morten Schuld-Jensen (Freiburg, Germany).

She was the voice student of Michael Krause (Bonn), Frank Bossert (SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart), Diane Forlano (London), Stewart Emerson (Berlin), Anne Hellmann (Mainz) and Prof. Ulrike Sonntag (HMdK Stuttgart).

Isabelle Métrope’s musical path has been influenced by many projects and concerts under the batons of renowned conductors like Helmuth Rilling (Junges Stuttgarter Bachensemble) and Hans-Christoph Rademann (Gaechinger Cantorey) at the Internationale Bach-Akademie Stuttgart, as well as with Denis Rouger (chœur de chambre figure humaine) and Ulrich Studer (Académie Bach Aix en Provence). These projects took her to many cities in Germany a well as to Italy, Tunisia, Chile, France and Switzerland.

She sang several years in the Regional Youth Choir of Nordrhine-Westfalia, singing solos in diverse choral works (such as J.S Bach’s b minor Mass). She is one of the founding members of the ensemble cantus imperitus. She has a longstanding collaboration and affinity for the German-French Choir of Cologne. She’s working as a choir conductor and voice teacher mainly in the Stuttgart area.

Vita

Isabelle Métrope begann ihre musikalische Ausbildung als Sängerin und Geigerin in ihrem Heimatland Frankreich. Zunächst absolvierte sie ein Bachelorstudium Sprachen & Wirtschaft (u.a. in Köln und Aix en Provence) sowie ein Masterstudium in Musikmanagement. Später studierte sie Chorleitung (Klasse Prof. Jörg Breiding), Musikwissenschaft und Gesangspädagogik (Klassen Edina Soriano und Christoph Scheeben) an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen. Dort übernahm sie mehrere pädagogische Aufgaben wie die Leitung von Chorproben sowie die Chor- und Stimmarbeit für Instrumentalstudierende. Außerdem nahm sie an mehreren Dirigierkursen mit dem Knabenchor Hannover und Prof. Jörg Breiding, sowie mit Erwin List (Frankreich) und Morten Schuld-Jensen (Freiburg) teil.

Wichtige sängerische Impulse erhielt sie u.a. bei Michael Krause (Bonn), Anne Hellmann (Mainz), Diane Forlano (London), Stewart Emerson (Berlin) und Frank Bossert (SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart).

Ihre musikalische Laufbahn ist geprägt durch Projekte und Konzerte mit namhaften Dirigenten wie Helmuth Rilling (Junges Stuttgarter Bachensemble) und Hans-Christoph Rademann (Gaechinger Cantorey) im Rahmen der Internationalen Bach-Akademie Stuttgart, sowie mit Prof. Denis Rouger (figure humaine kammerchor) und Ulrich Studer (Académie Bach Aix en Provence). Diese Projekte führten sie nach Italien, Tunesien, Chile und Frankreich sowie in die Schweiz.

Isabelle Métrope sang einige Jahre im LandesJugendChor NRW (u.a. als Solistin in Bachs h-moll-Messe) und ist Gründungsmitglied des Vokalensembles cantus imperitus. Außerdem verbindet sie eine langjährige Freundschaft mit dem Deutsch-Französischen Chor Köln.